Thursday, April 18, 2019

Office History

The Office of County Counsel was established by Ordinance No. 261-g on September 15, 1941. It was originally staffed by three attorneys and one secretary housed in a single room of what is now the historic Riverside County Courthouse. Currently, the office employs 46 attorneys and 24 administrative support staff. The main office is located in the Downtown Law Building. Three satellite facilities are maintained throughout Riverside County as well.  Since the inception of the office there have been eight County Counsels:

Gregory P. Priamos


Pamela J. Walls


Joe S. Rank


William C. Katzenstein


Gerald J. Geerlings


James H. Angell


Ray T. Sullivan


William O. Mackey


Earl Redwine


The office has consistently been well-respected in the legal community. Office alumni include the following judicial officers and public attorneys: Michele D. Levine (Riverside County Superior Court Judge), Suzanne S. Sykes (Riverside County Superior Court Judge), Glenn T. Salter (Orange County Superior Court Judge), Leo A. Deegan (Former Riverside County Superior Court Judge), Gerald F. Schulte (Former Riverside County Superior Court Judge), Joyce M. Reikes (Former Riverside County Superior Court Commissioner), Robert Westmeyer (Napa County Counsel), R. Cliff Lober (Former Napa County Counsel), and Jerry Scheer (Former Costa Mesa City Attorney).